Homemade Granola Bars – Yummy!

 

Lately, as I’ve browsed through recipes on the web I’ve seen some yummy looking ones for granola bars.  So, I thought I’d take the one I liked the best and tweak it just a little – because of course, I didn’t have all of the ingredients I needed on hand!  This recipe originally called for 1/2 cup of wheat germ and since I didn’t have any, I used 2 tablespoons of ground flaxseed.  I wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out as the measurements were quite different, but I’ve read that you don’t want to over-do on the flaxseed as it has a pretty strong nutty flavor.  Soooo, here is what the final product looks like….oh, and I must be truthful and disclose that I did not make these, my 13 year old (who loves to cook and create her own recipes) made them at my request :’)

Recipe for Deb’s Homemade Granola Bars

2 cups oats

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 tbl ground flaxseed

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup flour

3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

1 tsp salt (seemed a little salty to me?)

1/2 cup honey

1 egg – beaten

1/2 cup canola oil

2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Generously grease a 9 x 13 baking pan.  In a large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, flaxseed, cinnamon, flour, choc chips and salt.  Make a well in the center and pour in the honey, egg, oil and vanilla.  Mix well.  Pat the mixture evenly into the prepared pan.  Bake for 30 minutes or until the edges turn golden.  Cool for 5 minutes, then cut into bars.

 

 

a href=”http://tipjunkie.com/” target=”_blank”>Tip Junkie handmade projects

2 thoughts on “Homemade Granola Bars – Yummy!

Leave a Reply

