Blogging Goals ~ 2012

Before I list my blogging goals for 2012

I need to share why I got into blogging in the first place.

A few years ago I found Thrifty Decor Chick

and she forever changed my idea of bloggers!

The way she wrote about her DIY projects

made me feel like I was actually reading

about a real person with real issues

who could even live next door to me!

Before, I would look at Pottery Barn or

Restoration Hardware for inspiration,

but I could never afford to duplicate anything

beyond the color on the walls or maybe furniture placement.

Then I met Sarah…

she showed me how to paint furniture with spray paint and

how to spot a really “special” piece at Goodwill

that I could transform into something useful & pretty.

She wasn’t afraid to post pictures of her mistakes

but with her quick wit & humor showed me that she was a real person,

not someone living in a showroom or mansion!

There have been many other bloggers

who have inspired me in the past few years

and I will share my “blogging inspiration” in another post,

but for now I want to get back to my blogging goals…

Me, keeping it real!!

I think the most important goal for me

is to keep it real with every post I write,

whether I’m showing you how I organized my closet

or perhaps sharing my heart with you.

I want anyone who reads my blog to know

that my life isn’t perfect and neither is my home.

Google Images

When I started out blogging I was afraid to post pictures

that were less than perfect or with anything out of place.

But then I realized that the bloggers I enjoy the most

are the ones who aren’t afraid to share their messes

or failures and that I don’t need to portray myself (or my home)

as something I’m not.

I’m a stay-at-home, homeschooling Mom

of 2 teenage daughters and an almost teenage son

who keep me running all over town with soccer practices,

games, parties, youth group…

and the list goes on and on!

But I really wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

My “babies” 8 years ago…where did the time go?

I think the secret to enjoying my crazy life

is realizing this:

1. Kids grow up way too fast so enjoy em’ while you got em’!

 2.  God made me who I am for a reason

and I need to stop whining about where I fall short

and just continue to seek after Him, day after day,

one foot in front of the other!

3.  Most people don’t really care if I dress in the latest fashions

or have a spotless home.

 They care more that I am honest about where I am in my life

and am willing to share the things I learn along the way.

Bottom line is:  As much as I would love the perfect-looking house,

beautifully decorated & organized,

I want even more to portray who I really am

and how I am enjoying my not-so-perfect life.

I hope that you’ll continue to come along for the ride!

Here’s a quick list of the blogging goals that I have made for 2012:

*Blog consistently

*Blog intentionally with content that is relevant

to what is going on in my life

*Learn to take better photos and how to use editing programs

*Keep my blog’s “look” up-to-date and appealing

*Continue to look toward the future in blogging –

linky parties, tutorials, possibly advertisers…

pinsavvysocial.com

Here are a couple of links to some great blogging tools

that I found recently on Pinterest:

*Blog Topics Organizer (free printable) by Perideau Designs

*Blog Calendar (free printable) by Living Locurto

*Here is the link to my Pinterest board that has lots of “Blogging Tips”

that I haven’t had the chance to read yet

In my next post I’m going to share my “blogging inspiration” – stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Blogging Goals ~ 2012

  1. Pingback: My Blogging Inspiration | Deb's Heart & Home

Leave a Reply

