The Pioneer Woman’s Banana Boats

tvlistings.zap2it.com

Have you watched an episode of The Pioneer Woman on the Food Network yet?

I love it!

tvlistings.zap2it.com

I love how real Ree Drummond is…

I love how she cooks food I would feed my family…

I love that she home schools her kiddos & shares about it in one of the episodes…

I love that her show isn’t just about food, and isn’t a reality tv show,

but that it’s about a real family, working hard every day on a ranch in the middle of nowhere…

and it’s about a Mom (Ree) who loves to cook good food for her family & friends.

::   ::   ::

So, after watching a few episodes of The Pioneer Woman on demand this weekend,

I rushed over to the  Food Network website

and pinned some of her recipes that I would like to try…

::   ::   ::

One of them was for her Banana Boats…

In the episode where Ree makes the Banana Boats (Pioneer Creek),

she is preparing a meal to take down to the creek where her kids

and their Grandma are camping out…

::   ::   ::

I decided to try them out on my family – who all love bananas!

First, I looked around the kitchen for our toppings…

The Pioneer Woman used chocolate chips, carmel chips, marshmallows & graham cracker bits…

::   ::   ::

I found chocolate chips, caramels (which I chopped into bits), walnut pieces

and Nature Valley Granola Thins with peanut butter…

We started by slicing into the banana, about 2/3rds of the way through…

then you just add your toppings!

My kiddos tried a little (or in some cases, a lot!) of everything…

Pack it nice and full and then fold it up into a piece of foil…

We wrote each person’s initials on the outside so we would be able to tell them apart…

Then we popped them into a 350 degree oven for about 12-15 minutes…

They’re not extremely pretty when you take them out of the foil…

but boy we’re they tasty!

And they were devoured in minutes!

::   ::   ::

One thought on “The Pioneer Woman’s Banana Boats

Leave a Reply

